New Year’s Resolutions: Reading Resolutions for 2014

Happy New Year!

It’s that time of year again when many of us make resolutions for the new year ahead. Alongside my other New Year’s Resolutions, this year I thought I’d make some ‘Reading Resolutions’ – some goals for my reading in the new year.

1. Read well.

As with every year I want to read more but this year, I also want to read well. I don’t have a goal of how many books I want to read over the next 12 months, as long as I’ve read the books I do read well. I’m keeping the phrase ‘quality over quantity’ in mind here, as I don’t think it matters if it takes me a week or one month to read a book, as long as each word and each page has been read well. The author chose the words for a reason, so I want to make sure I read each one well and really consider the book before quickly moving on to the next one.

2. Move out of my reading comfort zone.

I like to think that I’m not biased when it comes to reading – I’ll read nonfiction and fiction, but I normally gravitate towards fiction. I will never stop reading it, but I want to push myself out of my reading comfort zones and read more non-fiction books this year. Biographies, books on history, science, religion, the list could go on…

Of course, it isn’t just moving into nonfiction that is pushing me out of my comfort zones – I can challenge myself by reading fiction, too. In November of 2013 I read Colm Toibin’s The Testament of Mary (and reviewed it here) and felt that I’d pushed myself out of my comfort zone by reading that novella. I want to do more of that in 2014. Challenging myself runs the risk of reading some books that I don’t like, but there’s also the possibility that I’ll find books and authors that I love. And that’s always a good thing.

I love going to the theatre too and before Uni I never really read plays unless it was for school. I enjoy reading plays so I want to make an effort to read more of them in 2014, too.

 

While I’ve only got 2 Reading New Year’s Resolutions for 2014, I hope that these are achievable goals. As the year goes on, I may even add to my list but these are the ones I’m planning on working towards for now. Have you made any New Year’s resolutions this year?

7 thoughts on “New Year’s Resolutions: Reading Resolutions for 2014

  1. I like your resolutions are more than just “I’ll read X number of books in 2014.” Quality does matter, and while it’s not bad to read a lot books, we shouldn’t feel bad for taking our time or reading a few books deeply as opposed to a lot of books on a shallow level. Also, good luck with diversifying your reading selection – it should be lots of fun!

    Also, don’t feel bad for having “only” two reading resolutions – yours are solid and like you say, quality over quantity. (:

    • Thank you for reading and commenting! You’re right, it’s definitely not bad to read a lot of books at all, but like you said, it’s nice sometimes to read books deeply and take the time to consider them. Thanks for your lovely comment 🙂

  2. These are pretty good resolutions. I also want to read books more carefully, pay more attention to the plotline, the writing style, the author’s ideas. Still, I’ll try to achieve the 50 Books Challenge on Goodreads this year but without pressuring myself: if I manage to read that many books, it’s fine; if I don’t, it doesn’t matter as long as I’ve read good books.
    I wish you the best for the new year and hope that you’ll stick to these resolutions :).

  3. You’ve picked some good goals for 2014! We wish you the best of luck with them. Bee’s reading goals are very similar.

    Thanks for the comment on our film post. Let us know what you thought of the movies once you’ve watched them! – Bee, tftc.

  4. Pingback: Reading Resolutions 2014: How Did I Do? | The Perfectionist Pen

Leave a Reply

