Blogging for One Year!

It’s a year ago today that I nervously pressed ‘publish’ on the book review that I’d been endlessly rereading and editing for the blog that I’d registered a few months previously.

I’d been making promises to myself that I’d start a blog for, literally, years. But there was always a reason why I didn’t: university was taking up all of my time, my studies were more important, I was already contributing to an online magazine with book reviews. While these were genuine reasons, looking back, I realise I was nervous. It’s a scary thing putting your thoughts and opinions out there for other people to read.

It wasn’t until after I’d graduated that I finally published my first post. I’d been working in marketing as a copywriter for about two months and I realised that I missed talking about books on a regular basis. After writing content for clients all day, I also wanted to write something for me, on a topic that I was passionate about.

And I’m so glad I discovered blogging. I love the whole process of it – setting my thoughts down on ‘paper’, articulating them, putting a post together and editing it. I’m still surprised, and happy, when I get a notification that someone has commented on a post and I love reading them, replying, and having a conversation about books. This blog has given me the space to write about something I’ve always loved and, in a year that hasn’t always been easy, it’s given me something to concentrate on and work towards.

The book blogging community is a wonderful one and I am very glad to be a part of it. I want to thank everyone who reads this blog – whether it’s every post or just once in a while – for reading and commenting. It really does mean a lot to me.

Here’s to many more years of blogging!

12 thoughts on “Blogging for One Year!

  1. Congrats on your first year of blogging! I had been meaning to start a blog for ages before I actually did too, and it is nerve-racking when you first press that publish button! I waited until I graduated as well, and although I haven’t been part of the blogging community for long, it certainly is wonderful to be a part of. Happy blogging for the future!

  2. Happy Bloggiversary! I’m glad you decided to start your blog and I hope it continues for many years to come. I enjoy reading your posts and chatting with you on the comments page. Congrats again on making it to your one-year mark!

  3. Congratulations on your one year mark! Starting a blog is a nerve racking thing for all, and I for one am glad you did – I love all your bookish content. It’s also great that you have found a little place for your passion for books, we all need a little place to express ourselves. I hope we see many more years with The Perfectionist Pen around!
    🙂

  4. Happy Bloggy Birthday!! I’m just one and a half years old, so still feel like a bit of a newcomer too. I really never realised there was such a big community of book bloggers out there, and it really is fun visiting other blogs or getting visitors to my own. I hope you go on enjoying it for a long time to come… 😀

  5. Congratulations on your first anniversary, Gemma. It is quite scary putting your thoughts out there, isn’t it? I still get a slightly jittery feeling whenever I press ‘publish’. I’m very happy to have found your blog and here’s to many more years of blogging to come!

  6. Congrats Gemma! Agree with everything you’ve said – when I stopped studying I missed writing on a regular basis, and blogging is a great way to talk about a passion you have. Here’s to the future!

Leave a Reply

