The Liebster Award!

The other week I was lucky enough to be nominated by Charlotte over at Awake and Make for the Liebster Award. The award is designed to recognise new blogs and help readers discover some new blogs too. Here are the rules:

-Link back to the person who nominated you
-Post 11 facts about yourself.
-Answer the 11 questions set by your nominator
-Nominate 11 other bloggers with under 200 followers (you can’t nominate the person who nominated you)
-Set 11 questions for your nominees to answer
-Let your nominees know you’ve nominated them.

As this is a book blog, I thought that my 11 facts should all be book related:

  1. I find bookshops calming.
  2. I can’t remember when I first got a library card, but I don’t remember ever not having one.
  3. The majority of the books I read at the moment are borrowed from the library.
  4. If I find a book I love from the library, it goes on my list of ‘Books to Buy’.
  5. I used to hate the idea of writing in books, cracking spines, or folding down pages. But university thoroughly changed that and now I love the idea of writing notes in the margins. I think it’s always interesting to look back at your handwritten notes in a book to see what you previously thought. I can’t bear to write in ‘nice’ editions or hardbacks though.
  6. I find it difficult to read while listening to music or watching tv, but I’m perfectly fine reading on a busy bus or train or in a bustling café.
  7. I can’t read more than one book at a time…
  8. …but if I’m reading nonfiction, more often than not, I’ll be reading fiction alongside it.
  9. Recently I’ve developed a habit of wanting to buy matching editions (such as Penguin Modern Classics, Vintage Classics etc) of the books I have, or buying ‘nicer’ editions of books I already own.
  10. I rarely go out without taking a book with me.
  11. For a very long time, I’ve wanted to have my own library in my future house. I’m slowly getting there, one book at a time…!

Here are Charlotte’s questions and my answers:

1. Why did you start blogging?

I started blogging after wanting to start a blog for a long time, but there was always a reason why I didn’t. I finally started after having graduated and been working for a couple of months and I realised I missed talking about books. And so, my blog was born! It was also a way for me to remember the books I read and what I thought of them, as I sadly have a poor memory for books!

2. What was the last photograph you took?

A photograph of a loaf of bread I baked recently. I love baking, whether it’s cakes, biscuits or bread and I’m a big fan of The Great British Bake Off which is encouraging me to get in the kitchen and bake more!

3. What is the saying you would like to live your life by?

I love quotes or sayings as I can often find them quite inspiring, so there can be a few that I like at any one time. The saying which springs to mind at the moment is:

“Let me live, love, and say it well in good sentences” – Sylvia Plath

4. If you had to choose, what would be your favourite word?

Ah, I find choosing a favourite word very difficult! Here are a few I like either for their meaning or the way they sound:

Aplomb, serendipity, crepuscular

5. If you could change one thing (about anything), what would it be?

Keeping on the theme of books and reading, I’d love to be able to change the number of libraries or independent bookshops which sadly have had to close down in recent years. Libraries in particular are such a valuable resource in our communities giving everyone, regardless of class, wealth, or background, access to books and computers.

6. What is the book which has had the most impact on your life?

Virginia Woolf’s Mrs Dalloway. It’s my favourite book and was also the first classic I read that I actually connected with. Reading Mrs Dalloway also introduced me to a writing style and technique that I’d never experienced before. The other books that have had the most impact are the Harry Potter series, probably because they’ve been a part of my life for so long.

7. What is your favourite kind of cake?

Chocolate! Although I’ll never say no to a Victoria sponge or Lemon Drizzle cake…

8. Are you an early riser, or a night owl?

An early riser. I love the feeling of getting lots done and being productive before it’s lunchtime.

9. If you weren’t alive now, which era would you most like to be alive in?

Maybe the 50s or 60s, simply because of the music and fashion.

10. What would be your perfect day?

The perfect day would start with a lovely cup of coffee and a book over breakfast, then a morning of reading or writing. Lunch with friends or family and an afternoon of going on a nice walk or exploring a new place. Visiting a bookshop and browsing for hours would be a must, followed by a visit to a nice café where we can have tea and cake. Then in the evening, dinner with friends or family, or a visit to the theatre in London, or even simply watching a film or TV at home. In short, a day with reading, writing, books, friends, family, food, and laughter would be perfect.

11. What is your biggest dream?

My biggest dream is to one day be able to earn a living from writing. I’d love to publish novels or short story collections, but I also want to write articles for magazines.

My Nominations

Here are my nominations – please don’t feel obliged to accept the award or answer the questions! Also, apologies if you’ve already been nominated and written a post 🙂

Faded Windmills
Bits and Bobs
The Novel Project Chronicles
Girl, 20
JacquiWine’s Journal
A Life in Books
My Book Strings
Yasmine Rose’s Book Blog
BookAWeek: A Challenge to Read 52 Books in a Year
Lark Writes
Boats Against the Current

Some of these blogs I’ve been reading for a while; others are new discoveries, but I read all of them regularly, so please do check them out! Hopefully you can find a new blog to read 🙂

Here are my questions, mostly book-related but there are a few general ones too:

  1. If you could invite any three writers, living or dead, to a dinner party, who would you choose?
  2. If you could be transported into any book, which one would you pick and why? e.g. Harry Potter to explore Hogwarts, or The Great Gatsby to experience one of Gatsby’s famous parties.
  3. What is your favourite book cover?
  4. Who, or what, inspires you the most?
  5. Do you mostly read books or ebooks?
  6. When it comes to film adaptations of books, do you like to read the book first or watch the film?
  7. Is there a book that everyone seems to love, but you dislike?
  8. What is your favourite childhood book?
  9. What is your most treasured possession?
  10. If money was no object, which country/place would you like to visit and why?
  11. What’s your favourite part of blogging?

So that’s it! Hope you enjoyed this post and thanks again to Charlotte for nominating me 🙂

21 thoughts on “The Liebster Award!

  1. Thanks for the nomination, Gemma – I’ll be completing your questions in the near future!

    I loved learning a little more about you, both book and non book related. Your fact of always remembering owning a library card reminded me of when me and my sister were younger and would visit the mobile library that used to stop at the end of our road – it was a lot more convenient than the local library. A thing of the past now eh, mobile libraries.

    For a long time I always thought a book is a book and paid no heed to the cover art etc but for the past 5 years or so I’ve found myself opting for the nicer editions of books. There’s just something looking at a bookshelf full of beautifully designed covers.

    Your perfect day does indeed sound perfect!
    🙂

    • You’re welcome 🙂

      Now you mention mobile libraries, I don’t think I’ve ever visited one! There wasn’t one where we lived that I remember! But you’re right, you don’t see mobile libraries very often now.

      Thanks for reading, Jade 🙂

  2. Wow. Thanks so much for the nomination. You’ve made my day 🙂

    I loved reading your answers to these questions and learning a bit more about you. I completely agree with your concern over libraries and independent booksellers closing down.

    I’ll be completing your questions and posting my own nominations soon. 🙂

  3. Your ideal day sounds like heaven! You just described perfection : )

    I LOVE your facts and answers to those wonderful questions, but I also love the questions you bestow on your chosen 11! How exciting : )

    I definitely feel like I know you a little, through this post! And may I say, we have vast amounts in common (besides a name!).

    Loved this piece and can’t wait to get to work thinking up some answers and my gosh, 11 facts about myself!

    : )

  4. Thanks so much for the nomination! I will be posting my own answers and nominations some time in the near future.
    I really liked reading your answers and it’s good to know I’m not the only person who has to try and buy matching editions of books. I have been trying to only buy the Wordsworth Editions of all the classics for ages, so they all match on my bookcase!

  5. Thank you so much for the nomination! I will try and answer your questions soon when I have some spare time! I love that Sylvia Plath quote!

  6. Congratulations on your award, Gemma! I enjoyed learning more about you – I’ll never say no to chocolate or lemon drizzle cake, either!

    Thank you so much for nominating me, very kind of you. Here’s to many more conversations about books!

  7. Sweet that you nominated me, Gemma! (Or rather, my blog.) I’m very flattered, but I was nominated for this award last summer, so will not be able to accept it this time around. But thank you so much!! And congrats on your own nomination and award. Your blog definitely deserves it!

Leave a Reply

