I’m back!

Hi everyone, hope you’re all well and have had a great October!

Just a quick post to let you all know that I’m back from my trip to New Zealand! I had the most incredible time – I visited amazing places, met some wonderful people, and have made great memories. I absolutely loved New Zealand and if you’ve ever thought about visiting, I’d definitely recommend it – the scenery is absolutely stunning and there’s something for everyone. This trip was my first experience of actual travelling (moving from place to place, staying in hostels etc) and I absolutely loved it. I was away for a total of 5 weeks and I feel as if I’ve changed quite a bit through the whole experience. If anyone’s interested, I could write up some posts about the places I visited so let me know if that’s something you’d like to read!

I hope to get back into blogging again soon – while it was quite nice to have a complete break away from it and the internet in general, I missed reading everyone’s blogs and writing up posts. I’ve got some reviews to write of books I read before I went away, reviews to write of the books I read whilst in New Zealand (I only finished 1 book and am close to completing the next, but they’re both ones I want to post about because I loved them!), and I was kindly nominated by Laura for the Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award so I hope to get a post published on that soon!

I’m looking forward to catching up with everyone’s blogs and getting back into posting again 🙂 I feel completely out of the book blogging loop, so does anyone have any news? What books are you reading at the moment?

 

23 thoughts on “I’m back!

    • I didn’t get a chance to visit Wellington unfortunately! It would have been really interesting to have seen Katherine Mansfield’s house as I love her short stories – if I ever go back to NZ I’ll definitely make a trip there. Did you visit her house when you went?

      • I did a bus trip from Christchurch which did a loop around the majority of the south island so I got to see places like Franz Josef, Queenstown, Milford Sound, Lake Tekapo. And then I was in the North Island and saw Auckland, Rotorua, Waitomo, Bay of Islands, Napier, Lake Taupo. I loved it! 🙂 Whereabouts did you visit?

      • We were seeing my son who was on a gap year there. We only had 2 weeks so vasically saw n Island …not South Isalnd at all. My highlights were Wellington …and Napier …what a beautifil city !!! My son went all over N and S Island . I so so want to go back

      • Did you go to any wineries ? A local gastro pub has started to serve Mission Estate wines ( manager is a Kiwi) and the were most amazed to hear we’d actualky been there! Napier is so beautiful and the beaches nearby are so lovely . Have you read Sydney Bridge Upside Down ….a kind of NZ Catcher In The Rye ….sort of …??

      • Yes we visited a few wineries which I really enjoyed! Didn’t visit Mission Estate though.
        No, I haven’t read it, but I’ll have to check it out! Thanks for the recommendation 🙂

  1. Welcome back! Glad you had a good trip! And I’d definitely be interested in reading about the places you went. I’ve always wanted to go to New Zealand, so I’d love to hear all about it!

  2. 👏 welcome back! I would like to read about the places you visited and see the pictures.

    I’m currently reading “Burial Rites” by Hannah Kent. It has this gloomy atmosphere but it’s well written. I’m enjoying it so far. I picked it for Halloween weekend.

    I started a new project: to read 48 books from my high school required reading list that I was given 15 years ago… 😱
    Posted a few reviews of French books. Will try to read one a month.
    Also posted a few readalong reviews.

  3. Welcome back, Gemma. Sounds like you had a great holiday! I’d. also be interested in hearing more about NZ. Did you visit any vineyards or try any wines while you were there? It’s one of my favourite regions.

    • I visited a few vineyards and tried quite a few wines 😉 We visited vineyards in both the north and south island, but I particularly liked the wines from the Napier/Hawkes Bay area in the South island. Have you tried any of those?

      • Very nice! I’ve tried a few reds from Hawkes Bay, mainly syrah: Te Mata and Trinity Hill, both very good. Craggy Range do a lovely Bordeaux-style blend labelled Sophia. Did you try any of those? Looking forward to hearing more about your trip. 🙂

      • I tried other syrahs but not the ones you mention! I’ll have to see if I can find them over here. I liked the Black Barn vineyard – don’t know if you’ve heard of it? but their syrah was very good. Now I know a little bit more about the wine from the region, I’m looking forward to seeing which ones are available over here!

  4. Welcome back! I’d love to hear all about your trip to New Zealand. Vicarious travel is all I’ve got this year. 🙂 Oh, and I just finished reading that Amy Sackville novel, The Still Point. I really liked it. Her writing is amazing…it reminded me a lot of some of Virginia Woolf’s novels. Thanks for recommending it!

Leave a Reply

