5 Books Recently Added to my TBR

Whether it’s due to reading a few novels that I’ve really enjoyed one-after-the-other or the fact that so many great books are being published and talked about lately, I’ve been adding so many titles to my TBR. Here are 5 that have found themselves added to the list recently.

The Tidal Zone by Sarah MossThe Tidal Zone Sarah Moss

I don’t think this book even made it on to my list before I ordered it online. I’ve seen positive reviews of it on different blogs and Youtube videos – it seems everyone loves it. Alongside this, it was the plot that really drew me in. Stay-at-home Dad, Adam, is writing a history of the bombing of Coventry Cathedral. One day he gets a call from his eldest daughter’s school informing him that she’s collapsed and stopped breathing. From this one moment, his and his family’s lives change and rewrite around this central event.

As I write this post, I’ve already started reading the novel and, while I’m not very far into it, I love Moss’ writing style: beautiful and absorbing.

Fell by Jenn Ashworth

Fell Jenn AshworthSimon from Savidge Reads mentioned this book over on his Youtube channel. The first line of the blurb is: ‘A haunting, mysterious tale imbued with the force of myth’ which is certainly enough to pique my interest. The protagonist Annette returns to her childhood home, an action which wakes the spirits of her parents who watch over her. The summer of 1963 is brought back to them – a time when Annette’s mother was ill and a stranger with healing powers drew their attention away from their daughter. Now, Annette’s parents try to draw another stranger into Annette’s life to help her. This sounds fascinating, especially the presence of myths. I think the cover is wonderful, too.

The Finding of Martha Lost by Caroline Wallace

The Finding of Martha Lost Caroline WallaceI heard about this novel over on Jen Campbell’s Youtube channel. It tells the story of Martha who has been living in the lost property office of Liverpool Lime Street station for sixteen years, waiting for someone to collect her. There are mysteries to solve in the station: secret underground tunnels and peculiar items that keep getting misplaced. But the mystery she needs to solve is the one that’s the most important: she needs to discover who she really is.

This sounds like a great piece of escapism. Jen likened it to Neil Gaiman’s Neverwhere – something which instantly made me add it to my list.

Love Me Back by Merritt Tierce

Love Me Back Merritt TierceSusan at A Life in Books cited this as one of the best books she’s read this year. Merritt Tierce’s debut novel follows the calm and reliable Marie who waits at tables at a steakhouse in Dallas. Yet beneath this exterior, Marie is living a numbing cycle of drugs, sex and self-harm. Susan described the novel as a ‘startlingly accomplished debut’ so I’m looking forward to reading this one.

The Four Dimensional Human: Ways of Being in the Digital World by Laurence Scott

The Four Dimensional Human Laurence ScottThis book was added to my list after another of Jen’s videos. The book looks at how the digital world has changed the way we think and how technology has affected our consciousness. It explores the new anxieties, sorrows and delights that have emerged thanks to us all living more public lives online. It sounds fascinating and thought-provoking.

 

 

 

So, that’s it! Five books I’ve added to my list lately. Have you read any of the books I’ve mentioned? What books have you added to your TBR recently?

 

 

11 thoughts on “5 Books Recently Added to my TBR

Leave a Reply

